La Cucaracha!

Posted on

tassles.jpg 

 It wasn’t until Allison over at “That’s What She Blogged” reminded me what fabulous fodder is available at the local health club, that I started looking again at my own. Like everything else, when you’re around it all the time, you start taking it for granted. But there’s nothing like the gym to help a person ignore their own shortcomings and instead focus on others’.

I went to the gym yesterday at an odd time and as I was wrapping up my leg workout on the leg curl machine, I happened to look up and notice there was an aerobics class going on in the glass-enclosed room right in front of me. Normally, this is a thing of great interest for me, but today was a bit different.

Today there was a bellydancing aerobics class going on. Yep, you heard me right, bellydancing. It was complete with middle-aged soccer moms wearing gold belts bedazzled (there’s a term from the 80s) with plastic jewels, and in the case of “Hot Cuban,” a shirt with what appeared to be ropes of fake pearls on the bottom presumably to showcase her rippling abs.

Now guys, I think you’ll all agree with me that some women just know how to move it-they are endowed with all the right muscles in all the right places. Conversely, there are some women who are not built this way. This class, a spectacle which I found myself perversely unable to turn away from, consisted of about 20% women who knew how to move it and 80% who didn’t. Even I, who can’t hula hoop to save my life, could swivel my hips better than some of these participants.

But should I, oh ye of the extra seven pounds that I can’t lose, really be throwing stones? Probably not, but I’m also not wearing a tankini and dangling pretties around my midsection. I mean, you pull that kinda stuff in public and you’re just opening yourself up for derision.

This is why, during Yoga, they turn all the lights off-so that pervs other people can’t look in and see everyone straining their spandex in a “downward facing dog” pose (something else I don’t do in public).

I’m not trying to dissuade anyone from the health club, except maybe all those New Years’ resolution members who clog up the club until somewhere around mid March when they’ve realized they won’t stick with it long enough to make a difference. If you’re serious about health and fitness, don’t worry about what anyone else thinks. Get in there, shake your moneymaker and have some fun!

2 thoughts on “La Cucaracha!

    Allison said:
    March 7, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Mental note: Cancel enrollment for public bellydancing class.

    trishatruly said:
    March 17, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    If those ab-challenged women hadn’t gone for the class you’d have still been there, waiting for the next belly-dancing class to begin! Just imagine if ALL of them had been mega-rippling, tight bellied, curvacious hunks of ta-ta-ed womanhood! Come own, bo-eh! Get real! They did you a favor!! lol

    “Get in there, shake your moneymaker and have some fun!” They’s a tryin’!!

    I agree with Allison…… no bellydancing class EVER for me…….

    You crack me up!

Leave a Reply

