It’s all very “hush hush”

Posted on

As I walked into the office the other morning around 7:05 a.m., I was surprised to see a meeting going on in one of the large staff rooms. Whoever it was in the room subsequently closed the door as I walked by, and I assumed it was because they were holding some uber-secret soiree that they didn’t want early-birders to interrupt.

I mentioned this in passing to a co-worker via my company’s chat and she indicated it was probably the weekly prayer meeting. Turns out, she was right.

But here’s the thing, are you ready for “the thing?” The Thing is, I’ve never been invited to this group and I wonder why. I imagine that they try and keep it hush-hush since it’s on corporate grounds and since they do it so early in the morning and all. The fact that they closed the door makes one think they aren’t too big on advertising the fact that it’s going on.

Then, one has to ask, if it’s so hush-hush, why bother at all? Do you follow? If you feel it important enough to “gather in his name” as the Bible instructs, then shouldn’t you also believe that, “If anyone is ashamed of me and my words, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his glory and in the glory of the Father and of the holy angels. (NIV Luke 9:26)

It’s possible however, that their being so secret has everything to do with not getting in trouble with “the man” and that I’m just being petty.

Anyway, about thirty minutes later, I saw the group disperse and it was interesting to see the attendees. Most of them I would have expected to be there–or perhaps I should say–I wasn’t surprised to see there, but there was at least one that caused me to raise an eyebrow. Seeing the collection of Sr. Management involved, it made me wonder how many people were in the meeting because they really felt a desire to be there, or because it seemed like a politically expedient thing to do.

Maybe I’m just projecting my own tendency to worship in private on others who don’t actually share my personal preferences, but it seems to me that if a person is driven to publicly meet and discuss spiritual things in the office-place, that you’d at least have a clue about their spiritual life based on their office practices. I’m no saint, but I also don’t try to look like I am, though I fully believe in God and I pray on a semi-regular basis, etc.

The funny thing is, I find myself in a place that I imagine a lot of non-believers find themselves when around believers–wondering if I’m somehow being looked down upon, and perhaps even discounted a bit because I’m not one of them. It’s an interesting place to be–almost as if I’d suddenly announced that I’m gay (I’m NOT! Oh, but there’s nothing wrong with it!) and having to deal with the fallout. An interesting turn of events to be sure.

Question: Any of you ever find yourself in this situation? Did you find that “they” treated you differently, even if you don’t consider yourself different from them and the only reason they might is because you haven’t gone public with your beliefs?
Help me out. I’m curious.

3 thoughts on “It’s all very “hush hush”

    Allison said:
    March 11, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    First of all, I can’t imagine secret prayer meetings taking place in my office. My officemate and I have periodic conversations about our churches and our faith, but that’s about as close as it gets. In fact, one partner recently joked that he would probably catch fire when he entered the church for his son’s wedding.

    I would like to hope that if we did have prayer meetings, and somebody saw me attending one, that they wouldn’t be surprised based on my actions (maybe a little surprised…nobody is a saint…just not shocked.)

    The last time I remember feeling out of place because of my religion was when I attended a Catholic mass at my husband’s parents’ church (I grew up Baptist). I didn’t know any of the routines, I coudln’t take communion, and I said one line too many of the Lord’s Prayer.

    Rose said:
    March 11, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    I do not understand why they need to ‘congregate’ in order to pray. Why do it in a group? Is it more effective than doing it alone? Do it in your car after you park. Why in a group? I just don’t get it.
    Recently (Christmas time) in my son’s school I over heard a teacher–not his–say to her class “Who of you believe in God” after children responded she continued with “Now why did God make mothers?” Once I got home and validated my concerns I buzzed off and email to the administration about how she should have reworded that and reminded him htat this was a public school adn not all families share the same beliefs. At the same time I asked him why they had not mention or teaching of fatihs other than Christianity (or Catholic–I really do not know the difference). i caused a stir but I beleve an appropriate one. As if I was the only one who had a child who had is not curently being raised in a religous household and thought that it was important to know about the different religions.

    storyofsue said:
    August 28, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    It is now August 2008 and I would like to comment on your post (love your layout).

    First of all, isn’t there a division between church and state? Well, I guess that is because I am in a state office building. We could never pray in here.

    Secondly, I bet if you contacted one of them about joining, they would probably include you in the group, i.e., if you are really interested in joint prayer.

    In any case, just let it go. Someone once said “I do my thing and you do yours. I am not in this world to live up to your expectations, and you are not in this world to live up to mine. You are you and I am I. And if by chance we find each other, it’s beautiful.” (Author ?)

    RE: Well, the division btwn church and state works all well and good until the election committee needs a place to hold voting. Around here, you see elections being held at some churches. I think the whole “church and state” thing was taken out of context to begin with, but if we’re going to do it, let’s do it in total! So really, what it is, is that as long as it’s convenient and fiscally responsible (i.e., voting at a church rather than renting a facility), the liberals are all for it.
    Bunch of two-faced hacks though if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

