Being Sick is…fun?

Posted on Updated on

God  bless CareerMom! Yesterday, my sinus infection came back with a vengence (as was evident by the multi-colored excretions that flowed with each annoyingly noisy blow).

 As such, I felt like death warmed over. That, coupled with work-laptop issues, had me in a “not to be trifled with” mood. CareerMom brought the boys home from their visit to the doctor where both got four shots (ouchies!) and were neither in much of a mood to have fun either, and promptly put MLE down for a short nap.

But after his nap, CareerMom took them both out for dinner at Chic-Fil-A and then to the “tiny park” while I languished on the couch. In my defense, I did attempt to fix the DVD player, and while I could get it to work with the cover off, when I put the cover back on, it stopped working again. I could probably fix it, but since I have to sit in the car with the unit plugged into the cigarette lighter, and the lighting there is NOT the best, I’m leaning towards chunking it and getting a new one.

But my inability to fix it meant that this morning, when MLI and MLE got in the car, and MLE was fussy thanks to the shots and a new lower tooth coming in, there was no DVD to watch.

I sense a big “I owe you one” coming on this evening, and while I still don’t feel like smiling much or sitting on the floor playing with the Leggo’s, I’m gonna suck it up and take one for the team. Course, I have to take about 3 or 4 for the team next week when CareerMom travels to New York.

But days like yesterday are the days that make a marriage (and parenting) work. That’s why there are two of you. When one is down and out, the other steps up with nary a complaint or comment. Sure, you may not feel like it yourself, but you do it, and not just for the kids either. So honey, you’re the best!

 (not that you know where I post my blog to)

3 thoughts on “Being Sick is…fun?

    romi41 said:
    March 15, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Oh, that is so sweet…it’s very inspiring to know what it “looks like” when things go well, and I hope you feel better soon! 🙂 (i.e. “multi-colored secretions”…oh no!!)

    Allison said:
    March 17, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    It’s always fun to have to call the doctor’s office and explain the nature and color of such secretions.

    I really dislike the word “secretions”. I suppose there are a lot of medical terms I don’t find particularly tasteful.

    Get better soon!

    trishatruly said:
    March 17, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    Sorry you feel like crap. It’s truly amazing the amount of mucus the human body is able to produce in a short amount of time, isn’t it?

    And I find as distasteful as the words “secretions” and “mucus” are, that “phlegm” is just wrong!!!

Leave a Reply

