No good plan goes unpunished!

Posted on Updated on

 The cold, yucky weather finally broke here in Atlanta and after watching the boys this week while CareerMom was out of town, I had booked a fun-filled day of exercise and Golf for today. I got up yesterday morning full in the knowledge that it was my Friday, grabbed some coffee and started getting ready for work. As I ambled into the bathroom, I sauntered up to the counter, reached for my facial soap and “POP!” My back pulled out!

Reaching for the friggin SOAP!

I’ve already had two back surgeries (my surgeon says my next is a fusion) and I’ve done this same thing numerous times, so I knew immediately that I was in trouble and that all my plans for the upcoming weekend had just gotten canned, but I didn’t know how much pain I was in for yet since usually it takes a while for the spasms to start up and for the surrounding muscles to contract. So, I went on in to work, dragging my left leg like the Hunchback of Notre Dame. The few times I did get out of my chair, I was forced to walk at about 1 MPH to keep the pain down. At 2 p.m., after the nausea set in, I gave up and came home to finish out my day.

As it turns out, this is probably the worst I’ve pulled my back since my last surgery, which worries me because I really don’t want to go back under the knife. The muscles around the nerve are so spasmed up, I’m pulled over to the left. Wait! Here’s a picture:

(Domo arigoto!) 

I was going to take a REAL picture, but my abs aren’t quite ready for prime time yet.

At any rate, this means I’m of absolutely no value around the house from a “helping with the boys” standpoint. CareerMom gets mad at me when I try to get up and do stuff, but I honestly can’t sit here all day. I’d rather grit through the pain and get up and cook and/or clean up a bit rather than just sit and watch.  

More importantly, this means that a number of projects I had planned for the weekend just got canned too, not to mention that it’s Easter (GOOD FRIDAY ALL!) and that means family gatherings, egg hiding, the whole nine yards. But, I DO have some good drugs and if I have to, I’ll hop myself up on them real good and put on my smiley face and be a good sport.

I’m always looking out for fellow sufferers. Feel free to share your story!

2 thoughts on “No good plan goes unpunished!

    Allison said:
    March 21, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    I’m afraid that I can be of no assistance to your fellow suffering cause…the worst problem I ever have is sleeping the wrong way and ending up with a crick in my neck.

    I’d like to take a moment though to focus on your “Domo arigoto!”. Is that what Styx is really singing in the Mr. Roboto song? I have a tendency to butcher song lyics. What does it mean? I always thought they were singing:

    Dobo-body-gato Mr. Roboto
    Do the boogie-woogie

    HA HA! To palgerize from WikiPedia: “Domo arigato is a Japanese phrase meaning “Thank you very much”. “Domo arigato” is also a catchphrase in the chorus of the song “Mr. Roboto” by Styx.”

    I had NO CLUE what they were saying when I was a kid.

    trishatruly said:
    March 21, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    Awww, Baby Boy, I am so sorry! What a suckie thing to happen on Easter weekend (or any weekend for that matter.)

    Listen to Careermom and stay still!! Let your body mend, for crying out loud!

    Love and hugs from BioMom!

Leave a Reply

