Whereas I say "crap" far too often

Posted on Updated on

fake smile With Mother’s Day coming up oh-so-quickly, I know that I have a finite amount of time to force coerce help the kids to do some crafty project for Mother’s Day, else I end up just getting some worthless trinket for them to give her. There are a couple of obstacles in the way of this though, not the least of which is that CareerMom isn’t much of a “keeper.”

By that I mean that she doesn’t really keep things from the kids. Oh, she’ll post something on the refrigerator, but it’ll stay there for months and months until finally I throw it away, or put it in my goodie bag of kids’ crap. She will, however, keep old shoes, handbags, textbooks from college (seriously!), and other useless junk, but take that cute macaroni and glitter ladybug the boys made in daycare and it’s a quick trip to the garbage for it.

To say then, that any crafty thing I try to put together out of cardboard and spit would probably earn about two minutes of endearment before getting relegated to a corner of the kitchen counter where I will stare at it for weeks while prepping dinner until such a time as I need that particular corner for some chopped produce, prompting me, in exasperation, to throw the item away, would be an understatement (and…a very long sentence!)

On the flip-side, I purchased a craft thingy last year for upwards of $50 and it turned out pretty darn disappointing. What’s a guy to do?

So honestly ladies, are crafty things from the kids REALLY desired, or is it one of those things you feel obligated to desire simply because society says you should? Assuming money IS an obstacle, what would you REALLY like for Mother’s Day?

And if you say something like, “A hug from my kids,” then I’m just going to be forced to remove your “Commenting” rights.

8 thoughts on “Whereas I say "crap" far too often

    Bikini said:
    April 30, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    I think crafty things are fine, but should fit within a couple parameters:

    1) It shouldn’t be too big. I don’t mind displaying some things the kids made, but usually they are HUGE (or ugly, let’s face it). I would stick to something that could fit in a 5×7″ frame, or the size of a paperweight or bookmark.

    2) Why not do something like have the kids hold up signs they made that say “Love you Mom!” or something and take a picture of it, and frame the picture… they got to make something, but she’s not stuck with a big sign in her office/on the fridge, etc. But a nice 4×6 or 5×7 print that you frame of it would be suitable.

    3) Take pictures of a couple fun pieces of artwork they’ve done, arrange them artisically in a long, skinny string that’s bookmark sized, print it out, laminate it, and voila! Bookmark!

    4) The cutest thing I’ve kept that my kids have made are handpring tulips – they traced their hands on colored construction paper, glued them to pipecleaners, and then arranged the “flowers” in a little clay pot about 3-4″ in diameter (pretty small footprint) with some tissue paper or fake moss to surround it and keep them upright.

    Dana said:
    April 30, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Since I’m a single mom, my parents and sisters help my little man come up with the gifts. I always get a card and some trinket, which to me is meaningful. I happen to love silver jewelry. My first mother’s day they gave me this little charm of a boys head with his initials on it. I still wear this on a choker which looks quite nice. I’ve also gotten earrings. A book mark is a good idea. He made me one of those last year with his finger prints and a poem. Since I love to read, I laminated this at work and use it all the time. It means a lot to me. I would love a picture of him. If I were in career mom’s place, I personally would like a picture of you with the boys. That’s the kind of stuff that means so much to me. It’s really not hard, but good luck!

    trishatruly said:
    April 30, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    Time is running out for this kind of personalized stuff! Hurry to the kiosk in the mall and do something for God’s sake!! LOL (tongue in cheek) Yikes! That’s some major stress on Dads. for sure! I never realized!

    Allison said:
    April 30, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    First of all, absolutely no jewelry touted by jewelry store as something every mother wants. This includes a mom hugging a child necklace, a #1 mom charm, and any other variation. A locket might be okay.

    Sometimes I would kill for an hour to myself at home.

    It might be a little cheesy, but I think I saw a frame where you can record your child’s voice and push a button to hear it. I thought that would be kind of neat for the office.

    Good luck. I’m sure you’ll do well. You really seem to put a lot of thought and planning into your gifts…I mean your kids’ gifts.

    Allison said:
    April 30, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Note of explanation:
    The “hour by myself” statement wasn’t just a random thought. I meant that maybe you could take the kids somewhere and give her an hour alone, if that is a rarity for her.

    Chris said:
    May 1, 2008 at 11:33 am

    All good suggestions. The big problem is getting the boys to cooperate together at ANYTHING at all. This year, CareerMom tried, yet again unsuccessfully, to get a picture of the boys together. She so desperately wants one of them dressed up. I’d love to be able to do that for her, but have no clue how I’d arrange it.

    heather said:
    May 3, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    I think making a card, even if it gets tossed eventually, is a fine way for a child to tell his mother he loves her. Moms don’t need fancy stuff, especially if they are well aware that money IS an issue. Cooking dinner, straightening up the living room, doing a load of laundry, those are things you can do for Mother’s Day that mom will appreciate and cost nothing but your time. It’s also a valuable lesson for kids to learn, that not everything of value costs money.

    RE: Ah, but you’re assuming now that those things (laundry, dishes, etc.) don’t already happen around here and they do. So, the usual, “Give mom a break on Mother’s day” doesn’t really work around here since we generally split all the duties 50/50. But a homemade card is always a good idea!

    Backpacking Dad said:
    May 4, 2008 at 10:49 am

    I say “carp” far too often.

    No. That’s a lie. It’s a poor attempt at a koje.

Leave a Reply

