Of herniated backs, burned ribs and other sundry Father’s Day stories

Posted on Updated on

MLIFathersday What would Father’s Day be without a post-Father’s Day wrap up blog detailing all of the many wonderful and spectacular things that happened?

Well, probably more like Real Life, but a whole lot less interesting!

Looking back on yesterday, had I to do it all over again, I wouldn’t. Oh it wasn’t bad really, but it was a whole lot less “Fathery” than I might have liked. Allow me to complain…

So, Sunday morning was great. The boys slept till like 6:15 a.m. and I enjoyed a nice leisurely cup of coffee in bed while I carefully maneuvered myself around so as not to pop my back first thing and thus incur the wrath of the muscle spasms. That done, I enjoyed a piping hot stack of fluffy pancakes with the family. Immediately after, the “Pirate Treasure” search was on for my unexpected Father’s Day gifts, which included the following:

– A 2008 calendar with MLIs not-smiling face on it (currently on display in my cubicle)

– A throwing disc (Frisbee is trademarked) with MLE’s handprint on it and something about my being the best daddy in the world

– A shirt

– A Logitech 670 Universal remote (which I spent nearly 3 hours trying to program and it still doesn’t work right all the time!)

That done, CareerMom took the boys with her to the gym (I couldn’t go cuz of my back) while I stayed and worked on programming the new remote. The rest of the day was uneventful. MLI had his last T-ball game of the season, after which they got this little certificate thing.

Then, around 5:30, the whole family (around 9 additional adults and 3 additional kids) arrived for a multi-level Father’s Day celebration consisting of racks of ribs, beer, a different pie according to each father’s preference, and more!

CareerMom had smartly drawn up a “babysitting schedule” to help cut down on our watching everyone’s kids as always seems to be the case. Unfortunately, after cooking the ribs to near-perfection for an hour, MLE got hurt upstairs and we could all hear him crying, but apparently whoever was in charge of babysitting then was either incapable of consoling him, or just didn’t care (When I went up there, he was crying inconsolably and they weren’t even holding him!!!), so I finally went up and got him and brought him down with me. In the meantime, despite having the grill on “low”, my ribs all flared up and most of them got a tad burnt on the outside, sending me into a depressed rage afterwhich I might have been heard saying, “If someone could watch these kids like they’re supposed to be, maybe I wouldn’t been off doing something else,” and also possibly, “I should have known better than to try and sit down and watch two minutes of golf (while holding MLE I might add) at a family function!!!”

I didn’t witness it, but based on the way everyone consoled me with, “These ribs are great!” after the episode, I can only imagine CareerMom went around saying, “He’s fine, he’s just on a LOT of drugs right now…like steroids…and I think it’s affecting his moods!” But I got no proof!

Well, crusty bits scraped off into the sink and 15 minutes later, I let myself relax upstairs for a few minutes away from all the “fun” (deep cleansing breaths…) and when I returned we all had a lovely dinner.

Oh, did I mention that the U.S. Open was on yesterday and that Tiger Woods was having an amazing come-back day? Did I also mention that out of everyone there, I play golf more than all of them combined? And did I mention that while I was cooking and cleaning up and watching kids, they all stayed glued to the game like they had all bet their last paycheck on it and meanwhile, the only part I saw was Tiger’s steadfast 16′ putt to tie the tournament and force it into OT on Monday? Yeah, I guess I left that part out. But dude, I’m not bitter…no really I’m not!

So anyway, in an unselfish martyr kinda way, it was a fun day. But in a “Hey, I get ONE FRIGGIN DAY A FRIGGIN YEAR, and this is how I celebrate it,” kinda way…after having spent the morning with my family, for the rest of the day, I’d rather have spent it just mowing grass.

I’ll be more upbeat tomorrow. I promise!

4 thoughts on “Of herniated backs, burned ribs and other sundry Father’s Day stories

    Allison said:
    June 16, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    Yikes! Sorry to hear that your Father’s Day was a bit of a bummer. I love the idea of a babysitting schedule. Too bad it didn’t work (and shame on somebody for not comforting MLE).

    birdpress said:
    June 16, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    “Unfortunately, after cooking the ribs to near-perfection for an hour, MLE got hurt upstairs and we could all hear him crying…”

    Well, what did you expect to happen when you let the kid cook ribs all by himself? 😉

    Sorry you had a rough day. Maybe you can declare a second Father’s Day next week and have a babysitter while you and CareerMom go out!

    RE: I was wondering if anyone else would catch my grammatical goof on that. I was too lazy to go back and fix it!
    Well, Careermom is flying out of town butt-early tomorrow morning for two days, so I’ll be “owed” somem “Me” time when she gets back. Soon as I rehab my back into shape, I’m gonna go hit the course!

    Leighton aka MyBestInvest said:
    June 16, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    I hate that the ribs were an innocent casualty of all the chaos. No perfectly-cooked slab o’ pork deserves that fate.

    Good thing you got a deja vu on the golf tournament today. Did you get to see any of it?

    RE: I did see the tournament. I watched it yesterday while working from home. I was pulling for Rocco too; it’s too bad!!

    romi41 said:
    June 19, 2008 at 12:11 am

    hahahaha….not bitter at all! I loved your little outburst-feelings, but they were so justified! Bet the ribs still tasted awesome though, a little scrape is not a big deal 😉

Leave a Reply

