Well, there is the water, and caves and horses to ride…

Posted on Updated on

Roadtrip I ‘m in a bit of a quandry. Help me out here.

My mom (one of them anyway) lives in Tennessee, in a tiny little town called Walland. It’s just on the other side of the mountains from Pigeon Forge and Dollywood and all of that tourist greatness.

She also lives right on Little River. In fact, I can wade right into the river from her back yard.

All of this adds up to a whole lotta reasons why I should go see her…more often. Except that it’s a 3.5 hour drive from Roswell and the drive isn’t especially kid-friendly. We’ve only been up there once this year, and that was in the spring, so we’re really due to go back up.

CareerMom is in New York this week on Thursday and coming back Friday afternoon and we’ve discussed my taking MLI and heading up to see my mom, leaving CareerMom and MLE at home. What really shouldn’t be that tough of a decision, is laden with choices:

Pros:

  • Getting a break from the constant attention needs of MLE (who is a HUGE daddy’s boy!)
  • Getting to spend some quality time with MLI playing in the river and drinking too much soda pop (what an “old” phrase) on the road trip
  • Seeing my mom
  • CareerMom suspects she left her glasses there last time and without them at night after she takes her contacts off, she can’t see much of anything. I could verify whether or not this is true and potentiall retrieve said glasses, thus potentially saving CareerMom loads on a new pair!

Cons:

  • The price of gas
  • The 7 hours of drive-time
  • My mom really wanting to see MLE since he’s “the baby” and arguably, quite the draw from a personality standpoint

Frankly, the price of gas isn’t THAT big a deal, but I felt I should throw it in regardless. And admittedly, a huge thing for me is that I feel guilty leaving CareerMom at home to deal with MLE by herself all weekend. At least when I’m home too, we can switch off for a few moments of sanity.

Whaddya think? Suck it up and take a road trip, or stay home and keep CareerMom sane?

4 thoughts on “Well, there is the water, and caves and horses to ride…

    brandiandboys said:
    July 15, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    pack up and go together…and put a TV in the car, it is a must! we can do a 7 hour trip with one stop – but we do pack a plastic bottle for when the boys need to “go”!

    have fun and hope to hear about it!

    RE: Hey! A new viewer!
    OH, how I wish it were as easy as a TV! We’ve had a mobile DVD player in the car since day 1. Unfortunately, my boys’ attention spans are about 30 minutes. Seriously, I’ve TRIED to make them sit down and watch TV and they won’t/can’t! But, looks like I’m gonna make the trip with just MLI, so we’ll be fine. He’s older now and much easier to keep happy!

    Leighton said:
    July 15, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Mr. Money Bags isn’t worried about the price of gas, eh?

    I’m kidding – I wouldn’t worry about it either. The entertainment value of a few days in East Tennessee will more than compensate.

    I say make the trip. CareerMom gets one kid for the weekend and you get the other, right? That way you’re equally loaded in terms of childcare responsibilities. Plus you may get some help from your Mom.

    Hit the road, Jack.

    RE: Money bags eh? Oh, if you could only see my bank account!
    Everybody now…”Nobody knows, the troubles…”

    I’m kidding (sorta). Remember, I still have CareerMom drivin’ around in a 7 year old Hyundai!! I’m a bad, bad man! HA HA!

    Allison said:
    July 16, 2008 at 6:39 am

    I vote for going. Finding CareerMom’s glasses should totally make up for her having to deal with MLE by herself. Caves?? You can’t pass on an opportunity to spelunk!

    RE: Looks like we’re going. There’s some seemingly cool caves there called “Tuckaleechee Caverns.” The tour takes like an hour and a half, so it’s a pretty darn big cave. We tried to go once before, but MLI flipped out. Course, he was only about 2 then. I’m going to try again this weekend I think. I really wanna go in!

    AtHomeDaddy said:
    July 17, 2008 at 11:50 am

    I wish I would get paid for every lego I step on during the day!

Leave a Reply

