Dear God, It’s me…um…Chris

Posted on Updated on

God Computer …come on Lord, I’ve been pretty good lately. I haven’t yelled at the kids unnecessarily; I’ve spent loads of time doing things THEY want to do rather than what I NEED to do. I’ve given CareerMom time off; heck, I even paid for her a facial thingy the other night! I’ve been more social lately and I even attended a “meeting” of Marketing professionals from my company.

I’ve resisted the temptation to open the Wii that I bought the boys for Christmas, despite the coolness of it all and hearing its siren call in my dreams. I haven’t given the dog away even though, thanks to three weeks of prednisone, she’s been peeing and dripping urine all over the house for nigh on the entire time!

I volunteered to go help my mom get the house ready for her husband’s upcoming 2nd hip replacement surgery, despite high gas costs and work that is sure to make my back hurt (more). And speaking of my back…I voluntarily DID NOT refill my pain medication, despite the fact that sitting in my office chair at work, and generally walking, makes it hurt from daylight till dark.

I haven’t spent money unnecessarily.

I’m putting up with “The Wiggles“…AGAIN!

So, I’m just wondering why, on a day I was looking forward to a quiet, work from home day just before what is sure to be an action-packed and exhausting weekend, you let MLE throw up all over the car just before getting to daycare?

Just wondering…and if you wanna get back to me with an answer…I’ll be here at home with MLE.

All day.

Just…waiting…

Amen.

3 thoughts on “Dear God, It’s me…um…Chris

    Allison said:
    August 3, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    I’m not sure which is worse…knowing that you have to find alternative childcare for at least 1-2 days, or cleaning vomit out of the car.

    Funny Far Side comic!

    RE: Well luckily it was on a Friday, so we just had to watch him that day before the weekend. But other than taking unusually long naps all weekend, the boy was fine from the moment after he puked until going back to daycare today!!! If he starts doing this on a regular basis, I might suspect something is up!

    Allison said:
    August 3, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Oh, and the title of this post reminded me of the Judy Blume book.

    RE: Yeah, sorta meant it that way…cuz, she was all innocent and stuff…LIKE ME!

    romi41 said:
    August 3, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Oh no, barf in car is the worst! You always hope for kitchen floor in times like that…and the fact that you are putting up with The Wiggles!???!! You must have a lottery win coming your way, just wait for it 😉

    RE: Yeah, I was scrubbing floor mats and carpet yesterday trying to get the funk out! Smelled like a rat had curled up and died in there!

Leave a Reply

