I think I’ll got to Boston…where no one knows my name…

Posted on Updated on

stress About every three months or so, I hit a wall; emotionally. Being a guy, perhaps I hold things in. I mean, I don’t cry at movies; I don’t get upset and vent on a box of chocolate covered maraschino cherries (though GOD I’d love to!); and I don’t really talk to anybody other than my wife about anything substantive (yeah, I really have no friends…it’s sad…but who has time…and money to pay babysitters?)

So I guess three months is the “fill line” on my stress-o-meter. I’m nearing it again, I can tell.

Here’s some examples:

  • I sort of vented to my boss about a random person in our company who wanted to start “reviewing” a communication piece I routinely publish. Oh, I also bluntly stated to this person, who is a level above me, that I wasn’t going to budge on her “suggestion” and that she could take it up with my boss if she didn’t like it.
  • The boys, who have generally been really good lately, have been REALLY getting on my nerves for doing things that one would normally expect of a 4 year old and a 1.5 year old.
  • That a-hole teenager at the gym benchpressing as much as me nearly pushed me over the edge!
    I mean…the NERVE! I bet his friggin’ football coach is slipping roids in his gatorade!
  • And if I come into the office one more time and find my network cable missing, or that someone has sat at my “cube of heavenly existence” and moved all my “stuff” around, I’m gonna raise some hell!

But the problem here is that I don’t know how to fix it. I do what most “experts” say to do, which is “exercise.” I exercise till every joint in my body hurts. In fact, I probably over do it. So what’s left?

If you’re a parent, you know you can’t just get up and leave. Walking out and going on a weekend getaway by yourself isn’t viable; either familialy (word?) or financially. Punching holes in walls only leads to more work for yourself and Klonopin makes you gain weight, which is the LAST thing I need.

So come on folks. Out with it. Save me $300 on a therapist. Tell me, how do you cope?
Oh, and you lurkers out there…you know who you are…time to get engaged!

3 thoughts on “I think I’ll got to Boston…where no one knows my name…

    David - the Father of Five said:
    August 6, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    I don’t really talk to anybody other than my wife about anything substantive (yeah, I really have no friends…it’s sad…but who has time…and money to pay babysitters?)

    Even though we have never met, I now KNOW you are a father… Why? Because I could have written this line VERBATIM. When I take a step back and take a look at my life – I too have no real friends… Oh, I do have friends.. Guys from college I still talk to on the phone, and email with, and get together at hunting season – but most of the “friends” I have now (due to the constraints in my life – time, money, kids, etc) are my cyber-friends, like you!

    Through comments, and miscellaneous emails – my blogging friends have become as important to me as my “real” friends…

    Count yourself amongst them..

    So come on folks. Out with it. Save me $300 on a therapist. Tell me, how do you cope?

    You may have read this one already… but I achieve persistence through catharsis.… Music.. Sometimes quiet and meditative, and other times overtly aggressive and inappropriate.

    Oh, and you lurkers out there…you know who you are…time to get engaged!

    (while staring at myself in the mirror wearing an old army fatigue jacket)

    “You talkin’ to me? You talkin’ to me? You talkin’ to me? Then who the hell else are you talkin’ to? You talkin’ to me? Well I’m the only one here. Who the %$# do you think you’re talking to?” – Travis Bickle in Taxi Driver…

    (Blushing…) Yeah, I don’t comment as much as I should… But I read each and ever post! I’ll try to be less of a “lurker”, and a bit more of a “commenter”…

    Although I do hope that, unlike Travis Bickle, I am NOT the only one here!

    Great post! Real life, real emotion, open and honest…

    RE: Thanks for the thoughts…and comment. I read all of your stuff too. Sometimes you cover so much ground though that I don’t know where to start with a comment…so I don’t 😦
    I’ve said it many times before, and probably will again, but the Lord works in mysterious ways. And while I’m not the most “religious” person you’ll meet, I give credit where credit is due.
    Anyway, about 30 minutes after I posted this yesterday, CareerMom called in hysterics. Her brother, who has 8 kids (dude, he’s got you beat by a mile!) has Parkinson’s disease and he’s only 40. Something “really bad” happened to him yesterday morning. He’s going to be OK, but it made me stop and reconsider what the heck I had to be depressed about–nothing!
    Oh, I know each person is still allowed to feel sorry for themself now and again, but considering what her brother goes through on a daily basis, my life is heaven!

    romi41 said:
    August 7, 2008 at 12:01 am

    That friggin’ teen hopped up on Gatorade-flavoured ‘roids!!! Sorry he annoyed you so…and gosh…coping mechanism? Well coming from a chick, you’re probably going to get a bit of the chocolate response from me (haha), but…I also find that a lot of exercise pushes it away…and once your body is too sore to continue…you could always “accidentally” knock over strangers and stuff…I find this very satisfying 🙂

    Was I a big help? 😉

    RE: Did you actually use the word “Gosh”? HA HA HA! See, inadvertantly, you made me feel better!

    Allison said:
    August 7, 2008 at 7:19 am

    I remember when I was having my ‘Girl Interrupted’ experience a few months ago, one of the things that helped was going to lunch with a couple of old friends (actually one was a former co-worker and one was my former boss from the same place). They are both encouraging people who say the right thing when you need it. I got a major motivation speech about my job hunt, my quest for a new dentist, and about my husband’s medical situation…it helped, a lot. I think it’s a gift– being able to say the right thing at the right time (BTW, I think David- The Father of Five has that gift). Maybe you could send out some lunch invites. Maybe that’s just helpful to me.

    I also use the gym, reading, music and chocolate.

    RE: All good ideas. I’ve been trying to get a bunch of “the old group” together, but we can’t all seem to get on the same page at the same time.

Leave a Reply

