Monday’s Collection O’ Goodness

Posted on Updated on

georgia football After about two months of posts, I usually end up with a bunch of little blog-ellas that aren’t really worthy of their own, entire blog. So here’s this month’s Blog-ellas. May they bring you much peace and happiness.

  • When you hear about frown lines and laugh lines and worry lines, you think, Eh, it’s all part of getting old. There’s nothing I can do about that.” But nobody ever said anything about “pillow lines.” Yes, I have a wrinkle now from sleeping on one side all the time. It’s where my chubby cheek folds up against my honker (my nose Romi, My NOSE!) as I lay on my pillow. 
  • We played one of the Veggie Tales movies for the kids on the way to church this weekend and now I have the song, “Oh, I need to tell you sumthin’….I don’t got a belly button‘” song running through my head (and I keep laughing about it!) 
  • My football team, Alabama, completely rolled over #3 Georgia this weekend…and then almost blew it in the 4th quarter. But we held on and that makes it all good, for an ENTIRE YEAR! 
  • I told you about my little cigar hobby. I am a rank amateur…there, I said it. But, I do know that a humidor doesn’t really work if you don’t put any solution on the little spongy thing, so I dropped by a cigar shop on Sunday to pick some up. How do I explain it? Have you ever been politely told that you’re an idiot without the words “Idiot” ever actually being uttered? Well, that’s how I felt when I left. I think I need to find a different cigar shop to give my money to…that or either purchase everything online. Thank the Lord for the Internet. It’s an introvert’s best friend! 
  • Here in Atlanta, we have a severe gas shortage. I spent 1.5 hours in line waiting for gas this weekend and as I drove to work this morning, I must have passed five stations with lines down the street. I’d like to address Congress and tell them to forget bailing out the morons who mismanaged all their financial assets and instead bail out Exxon! I’m pretty sure that in 35 years when I retire, my savings will have recovered, but I need GAS NOW!
  • My sister is getting married on November 1. For many and various reasons, I am not attending, and I feel horrible about it. I went to my other sister’s wedding, which perhaps makes it even worse. CareerMom has a weeklong trip the week leading up to the wedding and she’d literally have to get off one plane and get on another for us to make it in time. Also, we’d have to miss Halloween and though normally I couldn’t care less about that, but this year MLI is really excited about it. He’s to the age now where he can appreciate candy…and does.

I think that’ll do it. But the week is young. We’ll see what other exciting new things pop up!

7 thoughts on “Monday’s Collection O’ Goodness

    Josh Maxwell said:
    September 29, 2008 at 9:01 am

    I just stopped by your blog and thought I would say hello. I like your site design. Looking forward to reading more down the road.

    David, the Father of Five said:
    September 29, 2008 at 9:12 am

    1. Veggie Tails ROCK – one of my favorites (i.e. gets stuck in my head) is The Hairbrush Song

    2. I have a little “social anxiety” that makes me more of an introvert that I care to thing about at times… I do enjoy cigars, but have ALWAYS felt intimidation when going into the premium cigar shops. I use the internet or go in with my head down, and say “no thank you” when asked if I need any help.

    Tip… Don’t fret about the humidor. I have found that they (the humidor and then the cigars) dry out WAY too fast, and I do not have the time it takes to keep one operating at “optimum” performance. What I use is a glass jar with a rubber seal. I toss in a piece of cedar (i.e. Cedar Lined humidor) and keep my hygrometer and humidification device in the jar, and it all works out JUST FINE…

    It’s like anything… “They” will tell you that you are doing it wrong so “they” can sell you “what you need”…

    Watch your email… I’ll send you a photo!

    3. Are those lines due to all the recent hurricane activity??

    4. I hope your sister understands…

    David, the Father of Five said:
    September 29, 2008 at 9:13 am

    (Hairbrush Song is a link in the above comment is a link… if you have never heard the song before!)

    David, the Father of Five said:
    September 29, 2008 at 10:42 am

    FYI… Your email link came back to me as undeliverable….

    drop me an email through the link at Father of Five!

    birdpress said:
    September 29, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    Does your pillow wrinkle go away after you are up for a while or is it permanent now? I want to avoid that! 😮

    I can’t believe you had to wait in line for gas. I’ll go nuts if that happens here!

    Don’t worry, I forgive you for not coming to my wedding. I will miss you, and I wish you could come, but I understand.

    RE: The pillow wrinkle dissipates from view, but if you look closely, it’s always there!

    fayezie said:
    April 27, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    sweet… i am a covert non bulldog fan. grew up with big 10… moved to the great land of GA where people stop you on the street, “what! what do you mean you’re not a bulldog fan!?!” and my reply was “can you do the Chief Illiniwek dance, fool?!” ha ha ha… oh those Bulldogs fans are crazy. the ones that get on my nerves the most are the ones who never attended/graduated and yet are die-hard fanatics.

      dobeman said:
      April 29, 2009 at 2:56 pm

      RE: Guilty as charged…except I’m a Bama fan. I would have LOVED to have gone to the UoA, but it was not in the cards!

Leave a Reply

