Today was one of those days…

Posted on Updated on

…when you think to yourself (quietly mind you, not out loud where others can hear and judge), “What the hell was I thinking about having children.”

The kind of day that makes you want to just walk out of the house and take a nice, looooong, leisurely stroll somewhere without telling anyone.

Or maybe, you could lock yourself up in your study with a fat glass of rum and coke while you take out your frustrations on unsuspecting 12-year olds in a good old game of “Unreal Tournament” fragging the crap outta the disrespecting little bas…nevermind.

The kind of day where, you’re not mad at your spouse, but where it would be kinda nice to finish up the night in your own private bed, with your own television turned up as loud as you want on something that your spouse wouldn’t normally want you watching because it’s “boring” to them, while you generally sulk and nurse your hurt pride at not being good at this “fathering thing,” without having to worry what your spouse thinks.

…that kind of day.

6 thoughts on “Today was one of those days…

    Bikini said:
    October 12, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Amen. Make that rum and coke a double for me.

    Hope you’re doing better tomorrow. You know, when the kids are at school

    trishatruly said:
    October 12, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Ahhhh, you’re only human after all. Take it easy on yourself. Every parent has days where they feel unworthy but it passes. You’re a great dad!

    David, the Father of Five said:
    October 13, 2008 at 12:05 am

    Hey… We all have ’em..

    Just remember… A good dad is not made in one day, and neither is a bad dad.

    Bad dad’s do have the occasional good day, just like…
    Good dad’s who have an occasional bad day.

    Hang in there my friend… Tomorrow is a new day.

    dobeman said:
    October 13, 2008 at 7:15 am

    Thanks to everyone who left a word of encouragement after my post last night about having a “bad day.”

    I was definitely having an “American Idol 2007” moment (the song…Bad Day…nevermind…)

    Today is a new day, full of wonder and promise, and children in other people’s care. I expect it’ll be much better for me 🙂

    romi41 said:
    October 15, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    awww…I hope this day was followed up by one of those awesomeness days where everything goes right and you can do no wrong! 😉

    RE: I don’t know that it was THAT good. I mean, my upstairs DVR died. How horrific is that? But, DirecTV is sending me a new one for no charge! Woot!

    Surfer Jay said:
    October 16, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Dude, I know where your problems lie. You’re killing kids in the wrong game. It’s all about Gears Of Wear. That game will supply you with the adequate dosage of anger and frustration release through the un-adulterated mutilation of lonely homebody teenagers. And #2 comes out in one month….

    RE: I don’t know. I took a look at GoW and it looks a bit too “intelligent” for me. Like I’d have to actually consider strategy and stuff. I think I prefer the “spray and pray” approach offered by UT. Although, there is something viscerally appealing about a nice Head Shot!

Leave a Reply

