I’m doing what this afternoon?

Posted on Updated on

Someecards OK, quick post because I don’t have much time here. 

We’re always looking out for kids around our neighborhood for MLI to hook up with since his daycare is NOT in our school district and since when he does start Kindergarten next year, we want him to have some friends. So, there’s a little boy his age that he’s played with at the pool a few times and a week ago, CareerMom reached out to his mom to try and set up a playdate over the holidays.

What ensued is a playdate today, at 3:30. That’s fine, but what I’m befuddled about, is how I got roped into it.

See, this other little boy’s mom’s last e-mail to CareerMom said, “Great !  Lets just plan to come to our house.  Please bring all the boys as Brian will be home so maybe he and Chris could talk sports !”

OK, so when did a playdate become a family affair? Is this normal? My idea of a playdate, is where one (or both) kids goes with one of his or her parents to play with another child who is also there with a parent. (notice the use of singular “parent”)

I’m wondering, does this lady think I’m gonna drag along and just to be nice, she offered up the company of her husband to keep me sane, or does she actually want us all to come over and make it a “family affair?”

I tell ya, I gots me some plans for that free time, and those plans don’t include making small talk with a guy whom I’ve already small talked with and come to the conclusion that, “He’s a nice guy, but we’ll never be best buds.”

How do playdates usually work for you?

6 thoughts on “I’m doing what this afternoon?

    AtHomeDaddy said:
    November 23, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Combo deal. Sometimes all of us, sometimes one parent. And you are almost to the promised land, my friend, the play date WITHOUT a parent in attendance!

    Usually it is me going to the playdates when the kids are little, so that sort of limited us to dates with moms who were not freaked out by the SAHDad thing. But weekend playdates end up being mom’s domain. I only attend if it is one of our good friend families.

    RE: See, that’s what I envision too. It’s the weekend; you made the plans; why should I be involved?
    But wait, you mean, that at some time in the near future, people will ask for me to leave my children with them? Without paying for it?
    I don’t believe you!

    The Father of Five said:
    November 23, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    I can think of very few things that would be worse that the scenario that you just described. Just the THOUGHT of it is giving me an icky feeling in the of tummy…

    I seem to recall that we share similar feelings surround this very topic, but I for one am NOT a person who likes impromptu “social situations”.

    This would be a triple whammy for me.

    (a.) Forced social situation with someone I do not know very well.
    (b.) In an unfamiliar setting.
    (c.) In someone else’s home (and in this case the subject of (a.)).

    Don’t get me wrong. I AM able to do these things, and most folks would never even realize it, but internally – I would be crawling out of my own skin.

    Wow… I feel for you today… I hope it all goes well… (or by now “went” well).

    RE: Well, it wasn’t too bad really. That is, after we’d finished seeing all his toys (finished basement, huge custom bar with at least $3k in top shelf alcohol (kid you not!)). I wrapped things up after a couple of hours and used CareerMom as an excuse, “She hasn’t even finished her business plan and it’s due this week!” Found out, the guy is 50, and while that’s not old per-se, fifteen years is a huge gap. Which is probably why I already knew he and I would never hang out and shoot the breeze.
    Ah well, it’s done. Thanks for all the support!

    The Father of Five said:
    November 24, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Regarding leaving your kids with someone and not having to pay for it…

    Oh, you will have to pay for it… when they drop their kids off at YOUR house!!!

    Bwa-ha-ha-ha-ha!!! (evil sounding laugh)

    Allison said:
    November 24, 2008 at 7:23 am

    I’m guessing that she was looking for a playdate for her husband too. She’s probably been telling her friends, “My husband needs to get out more…do something with guy friends,” and you must fit the bill.

    My understanding was that playdates were usually only chaperoned by one parent only. However, we’ve never been invited to (or done the inviting) for playdates arranged with non-friends.

    Maybe he’ll seem better in his own house. Then again, maybe not. Good luck!

    RE: It was OK, as I mentioned in a follow up to FOF (I think). Despite spoiling the crap outta their kids, the kids are good kids and not ones I would mine hanging out with, which is really the ultimate goal. That fully stocked bar of the dad’s, while appealing, isn’t enough to tempt me too much. We do have a bit in common though, having worked in the same industry (Telecom), but that’s pretty much where it ends I think. His wife does most of the the “kid duties) around the house. But hey, I got out; I mingled; I socialized. I s’pose if I’m going to ask it of my kids, I should be willing to do the same eh?
    Hey, how was NY? i expect a blog update soon.

    Eric said:
    November 24, 2008 at 9:16 am

    It is so awkward to try and get out of these situations…
    I mean you wanna be nice, but at the same time, like you said, this is not a “family affair!” It is a playdate, or gathering of toddlers… if you will.
    Maybe Careermom was meaning the playdate to be for you?!

    jk jk jk

    Eric

    RE: Uh huh! Laugh it up SUCKO! Soon, it’ll be YOUR TURN! 🙂

    romi41 said:
    November 24, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    wow you got more than you bargained for…maybe the husband is socially awkward and needs more friends….hahaha….I want to say “have fun”, but you probably won’t…but tell us about it anyway 😉

    RE: Hope today’s post answers your questions! I got the feeling that the husband, despite his being nearly 50, is still very much stuck in living his glory days. Something about the signed and framed, Van Halen albums on the wall in the basement hit me as funny!

Leave a Reply

