I’m getting too old for this s…tuff!

Posted on Updated on

Temp For several years now, I have nearly-silently lamented the fact that my hair is starting to show silver. Not gray mind you–silver. Which, I suppose is preferable to a flat gray. I should be thankful though, that at least I’m not losing hair. My mother has a full head of hair and they say men get their hair from their mother, so I should be good for at least another 20 years.

I don’t let my beard grow out too often for many obvious reasons, not the least of which is the fact that I don’t like to scratch myself when I nod my head and my double chin waddles around and scratches itself; but, recently, I let it grow more than normal and as you can see…silver!

No folks, those shiny whiskers (mostly on my chin) are NOT reflections of light–they are gray whiskers. So, it’s official! I’m getting gray all over. Well…not ALL over…but at least above the waistline.

Getting old sucks!

6 thoughts on “I’m getting too old for this s…tuff!

    Eric said:
    December 10, 2008 at 9:43 am

    I went to get my hair cut yesterday…
    and of course she said…

    “Oh hey, you have a gray hair!”

    I just said…”well cut it out!”

    Stress sucks, getting old sucks, but like you said…
    at least you have your hair!

    I am starting to see the hairline fall back… 😦

    The Father of Five said:
    December 10, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    My goatee is FULL of gray… I have EARNED each and every one of them, and wear them like a badge of honor!!

    RE: That is true. It’s a mind-shift though, that I’m not yet used to.

    Paula said:
    December 10, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    I don’t know if it makes you feel better or worse, but I think you need to look at your mother’s father to see if you may inherit the baldness gene.

    My Hubby is screwed! Both sides of the family are filled with cue balls!

    RE: Aw crap! I think he was bald. I’ll have to ask.
    Hey BIO-MOM! What’s the status of “dear old dad’s” hair yo?

    Allison said:
    December 11, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Two words: Blond highlights. Oops, guess that doesn’t work here.

    BTW, that family Christmas picture on the sidebar is adorable!

    RE: I’m holding off on the highlights till I get a full-on spare tire around my mid-section. I think that’ll be HOT!

    Surfer Jay said:
    December 13, 2008 at 4:14 am

    Never too old to go gray , merely too young.. When I’m holding my boy when I have a stubbly facial growth I often remember how when I was a wittle kid my fathers stubble would hurt my skin, felt like sandpaper. So I try to keep it shaved down smooth as his butt now. (Oh, thats the babys butt, not my fathers or I would have more hair on my face than is currently possible…)

    RE: Yeah, MLI asked me recently, “Daddy, are you growing a beard?”
    As super 70s as that sounds, I ended up shaving it the next day!

    Hygiene Dad said:
    December 15, 2008 at 8:21 am

    My hair has been gray for 15 years so I’ve gotten quite used to it. My son tells me all the time that “I have white hair like grandpa.”

    Well dude, I’d rather have the white hair like grandpa than be balding like your uncle. 🙂

    RE: Yep, you can always color that stuff, but a fake rug will never look right! Hey, if I can look like Steve Martin when I’m his age, I’ll be a pretty happy man.

Leave a Reply

