"I’ll get right on that rose…"

Posted on Updated on

worker bee Ok, I’ll admit that my last couple of posts have been decidedly on the “bummer” side, and I promise, that I’m going to make every effort to do better.

After today’s post.

In the meantime, it’s the first official REAL day of work for most of the corporate world, and every white collar worker affected knows this means only one things…MEETINGS!

Now, for some people, meetings are a necessary fact of business. For instance, the group I work in is made up mostly of Product Managers, whose jobs consist almost entirely of working with other people to get their products rolled out and promoted on a global level. For these people, meetings are their lifeblood. And while most of them claim to hate meetings, it certainly doesn’t stop them from scheduling two-hour meetings each week to discuss miniscule changes in whatever they were doing from last week.

For me…I write. Writing takes a bit of coordination up front and on the backend; but generally, I need to be left alone. Unfortunately, many of my group’s meetings include time to talk about what I’m writing. So, despite their all knowing where their project’s status’ lie with me, I still have to be there to answer the occasional question.

I need another meeting like Dennis Rodman needs another tattoo!

Already this week, before everyone gets in and starts panicking, I have 9 hours of meetings scheduled. I could write nearly 1/3 of a white paper with 9 hours of uninterrupted work. Instead, I’ll be yawning through 9 hours of meetings that will bear almost no influence on my day-to-day.

I tell ya, it’s enough to make you want to call in sick!

Speaking of sick, that Alabama vs. Utah Sugar bowl was pretty awful too!

3 thoughts on “"I’ll get right on that rose…"

    Eric said:
    January 5, 2009 at 9:57 am

    “Don’t tell the mom the babysitter’s dead” reference…
    I’m impressed!

      dobeman said:
      January 5, 2009 at 12:06 pm

      And similarly, I’m impressed that someone else caught the reference. Good job!

    trishatruly said:
    January 5, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    Uhh, I was too kind to call and ask if you had slit a wrist over the Crimson Tides’ big whomper.
    I felt your pain…..

Leave a Reply

