"It’s not that I’m lazy…It’s that I just don’t care."

Posted on Updated on

grpi[s I posted yesterday about how this week was going to be the week of meetings from hell. Well, it’s gotten even worse…at least from my point of view.

I have a 12-5 p.m. “Kickoff” meeting on Thursday that I now see will also consist of “Team Breakouts.” (big smile everyone!!)

If you’re unfamiliar with this form of torture, it’s where, after sitting and  listening to the same crap that you’ve strategized over for the last two months, you get in little teams and brain-fart out the fine details. Then, everyone presents their farcical pitch to the greater audience, who are, no doubt, sitting there thinking that your team must have been sharing shrooms instead of strategizing, because this is THE DUMBEST IDEA on the planet, all the while laughing at what fools you’ve made of yourselves in front of your senior executive staff.

It’s a real hoot!

Oh also, they feed you boxed nasties made up of mayonnaisey turkey sandwiches with bean sprouts hanging out the sides like little disemboweled frogs from a 9th grade Biology class.

Have I made my point? Have I thoroughly disgusted you yet?

Hope so, cuz now you know the trepidation with which I approach this meeting on Thursday. There’s also the little annoyance that by the time I get out of here, I’ll have to fight Atlanta traffic for 10 miles home, precluding my going to the gym and working off this post-holiday, alcohol-induced pudge I have going. And few things in this life annoy me more than making me miss my workouts.

Perhaps I’ll go to the gym early and come into the office late…hmmm, there’s an idea.

But I’m having a mental tug-o-war over whether or not this is a good thing. On the one hand, I hate meetings. But on the other hand, with CareerMom working from home now, I could conceivably parlay this into some “me” time when I get home. “Honey, I’m going to go upstairs and detox for a while. Can you watch the kids while I soak in a nice, hot tub? Thanks!”

You gotta work the system see…

2 thoughts on “"It’s not that I’m lazy…It’s that I just don’t care."

    Eric said:
    January 6, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Wouldn’t it be great to just win the lottery?
    But, dont you have to play to win?

    Thus, I am less likely to win…
    ugh, here I am back at work… planning upcoming meetings for execs to do the exact thing you just described.

    Weekends are the best.

    dobeman said:
    January 6, 2009 at 9:58 am

    I play scratch off-tickets. Theoretically, I COULD win big!!

Leave a Reply

