Picture Phone Phriday – "I’ll cut you!"

Posted on Updated on

Kids all handle fear in different ways. When I was young, at night I would completely cover my body with my sheets for fear that whatever was not covered, would get chopped off by some axe-wielding monster. I have no idea where this fear came from, but it also prompted me to attempt world-record breaking sprinting attempts from my lightswitch to my bed.

I must have been fast since I still have all of my appendages.

My oldest son, whom I’ve affectionately, if perhaps prematurely, labeled “My little Introvert,” seems to have his own method of handling the night-time boogeyman. And while I’m a little fearful of what this might mean in the future, right now, I applaud his audacity:

(I’m adding blank space so you don’t see it before you read the intro)

 

01-09-09_0618

Defense: Ninja Turtle Style!

 

7 thoughts on “Picture Phone Phriday – "I’ll cut you!"

    Eric said:
    January 9, 2009 at 9:28 am

    HAHAHA!

    Your Little Introvert is a future Assassin!

    AtHomeDaddy said:
    January 9, 2009 at 9:42 am

    To paraphrase Amendment 2, “a well armed and well regulated kid being the best security of a boogey-man free nighttime…”

    pamajama said:
    January 9, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Too funny! I, too, did the bed dive, therefore keeping my ankles away from the empty space under the bed. I was pretty sure that was where Charles Manson might be waiting. Your son is a genius.

    trishatruly said:
    January 9, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    You get that from me. When I was a little kid I slept with a heavy quilt tucked way up close to my chin. I almost covered my head with it but the rule was: no part of my body could be over the edge of the mattress or exposed lest the boogeyman get me.

    What you must realize is that I was living in Central Florida where the average temp was 80 degrees!!!!!!

    Poor wonderful, brave, little MLI. I love hime SO much for that image. You have no idea what that did to my heart.

      dobeman said:
      January 10, 2009 at 2:32 pm

      Yeah, there’s more to the boy than at first glance. Especially when you get him off away from MLE and you can really talk to him. I need to do that more…

    Romi said:
    January 11, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    hahaha…so cute! Is that one of Raphael’s sai’s? Yes, Raphael was my fave ninja turtle growing up 😉

      dobeman said:
      January 12, 2009 at 9:26 am

      Yep, good eye. It’s a little plastic thing. He also has the sword to go along with it, but I guess that won’t fit under his pillow. I would imagine that if one were to go and try to swing a sword at a boogeyman, it would get caught in the sheets. For close work, the experts tell me a small knife can’t be beat!

Leave a Reply

