Can’t you hear the words that are coming out of my mouth?

Posted on Updated on

It’s amazing how words can change our lives. When properly applied, words have the power to create love, trust, truth, and of course their counterparts, hate, distrust and mistrust.

Every day we hear thousands of words and it’s up to us to decide whether or no to believe them. And it is this ability that guides one’s life. For instance, how many of us have spent a significant amount of money on something based largely on other people’s comments? I have.

How many of us took jobs, or chose our college career based on the perception we had of that path based on other’s opinions of it? Yep, that’s me.

But listening and believing strangers is one thing, and getting it from someone you know and love is completely different. Most of us, after many years of marriage, generally believe whatever it is our spouse tells us. Oh sure, they may say something, and in your mind you may think, “Really?” but at the end of the day, you know that person would never purposefully give you misinformation.

Or would they?

Four little words.

That’s all. Just Four.

But Four little words can change a person’s life. A marriage even.

Four little words like, “It’s OK, we’re safe.”

*crickets*

more *crickets*

Gentlemen, if there are any of you out there, single or married, who are not planning on having kids any time soon…a word of advice:

Women THINK they know their bodies, but they don’t. There are a few truths in this life and the fact that most modern accepted forms of birth control are ninety-nine point whatever percent effective is WAAAAAY more accurate than any woman’s “I know my body” intuition.

The facts as we know them:

– “We” are roughly 11.5 weeks along

– Due August 19th (interestingly, this is one week away from the due date of our first miscarriage, and this is the exact 1/2 year mark of MLE’s birthday)

– Nausea does not decrease in proportion to the number of pregnancies a woman has had

Couvade’s syndrome blows chunks!

– A certain someone, who was never against it previously (including in-between live births) has been very “anti-pill” since the birth of MLE

– Mother and children seem fine…dad has been seen wandering around the house, the basement, the backyard muttering things like, “But…we were going to FINALLY be able to go on vacations…” and “I don’t want to be 40 and still changing diapers…”

More to follow…

del.icio.us Tags:
18 thoughts on “Can’t you hear the words that are coming out of my mouth?

    Father of Five said:
    February 2, 2009 at 9:54 am

    CHRIS!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!! How very exciting!! Oooo… I am so looking forward to the next nine months of P & P!!!

    P.S. “It’s O.K. We’re safe” resulted in my #4 AND #5… It took me TWO MORE before I realized not to trust the “I know my cycle” rhetoric.

    But, looking back at it in hindsight… I would be without my daughters had it not been for those couple of oversights… And my life as I know it, would not be the same… (for better or for worse).

    When the Mother of Five told me about #4 – I reacted very poorly… I was “less than enthusiastic”… Which hurt her feelings.. I live with that to this day…

    When #5 came along – I improved. I was not “perfect”, but I improved.

    Hang in there… Once you get over the initial shock, it will be GREAT!!

    Best to Career Mom from the Father of Five and family!

    RE: “Poorly” might be an understatement for me. I was brutally honest…a trait I’m well known for (I didn’t say I was well-liked for it…)!

    Father of Five said:
    February 2, 2009 at 9:56 am

    Oh, and one more P.S.

    Only 2 more to go. And, NO you can’t have “Father of Five” as a blogname!!

    birdpress said:
    February 2, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Um… Congratulations?

    Dana said:
    February 2, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Congratulations!!! I’m very excited and happy for you. The shock will pass and you will be fine. But in the future know that nothing is really 100% effective…

    RE: So YOU say (about the shock passing).

    AtHomeDaddy said:
    February 2, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Yippee!!! It’s you not me!

    That is a poem, written by yours truly. Feel free to use it anytime.

    RE: You’re all heart!!

    Hygiene Dad said:
    February 2, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    Congratulations. Regardless of it was expected or not, it’s wonderful news.

    And you can never be 100% sure…well actually, lving my life, you CAN be 100% sure. LOL

    Still great news!

    RE: Thanks HD! Funny thing about that 100%…I was “doin’ my part” to keep this from happening, but like two love-starved teens, we threw concern to the wind…

    Rose said:
    February 2, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    Congratulations!!! Maybe it will be a little girl…

    RE: While I “get” the sentiment (since we have two boys) don’t ever let a mother whose had a miscarriage (or two) hear you say that! That’ll get her mother-hackles up quicker than anything!

    Eric said:
    February 2, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    I was reading this and I was like…

    “I don’t get it…”

    and then it just kinda hit me..

    “OMG you’re preggers!”

    Congrats dude! That is awesome!

    Wow- cool!

    Eric said:
    February 2, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    that is the last time I skim a post….

    lol

    RE: *GASP* I’m wounded! You can’t SKIM my posts! You’ll miss all the nuance and the trickery!

    Surfer Jay said:
    February 2, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    Whoot! Just when you thought diapers were a thing of the past. Seriously dude, no more putting it…just shear off those nuts. Clip them right off. I can’t wait to snip mine.

    RE: Seriously Dawg! Once MLS (My Little Surprise) comes out…it’s a trip to the friendly neighborhood Hooters, and then the penis-doctor where I will, once and for all, take care of bid-ness!

    allison said:
    February 2, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    You poor thing. Or not. I say congrats. Even though you don’t feel exuberant right now, you surely will when the time comes. On the other hand, I’m glad it’s your wife and not me. My days of house arrest, diaper changing, bottle feeding, pulling out my hair, looking old and frumpy, doing without, cutting corners, counting pennies, worrying about college funds, and the like are o-ver.

    RE: Were the shoe on the other foot, I would probably be saying the same thing to you 🙂

    Allison said:
    February 3, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Holy cow! Congratulations!!!!! I hope you didn’t already get rid of all the baby stuff 🙂

    I’ve heard that 3 is the new 2.

    RE: Yeah, I’ve been slowly tossing stuff as MLE has outgrown it. Ugh!!!

    AtHomeDaddy said:
    February 3, 2009 at 10:24 am

    3 is the new 2?

    I am cracking up at that one! I’ll stick with my “old school two”.

    Seriously though, congrats guys. Here’s to praying for good health and extra sleep for everyone between now and the big day.

    Rose said:
    February 3, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    oh…my apologies. I did not think.

    Eric said:
    February 3, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    Jay, you would actually do the “big snip?”

    Man, I don’t know bout that!

    It’s reversible right? The procedure… not your…
    oh nevermind! LOL!

    Romi said:
    February 4, 2009 at 10:20 am

    I know that by August 19th you will fully absorb my CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    (but really this is good, and as a child that was born third, you just have to give the third child way, way less nice things than their siblings had, and you WILL go on vacations, hahaha…(no I’m not bitter 😉 ))

    pamajama said:
    February 5, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    Oh wow, this is so great! Wish it was me:) And why in the hell does no one else in the universe use an IUD? For 11 years we’ve been perfectly fine.

    There are REASONS these things happen, a purpose to all of it. As for the boy/girl thing, I would always keep trying until at least one girl pops out. I just had to have one. You could have 10 boys and without a girl I would say “Go for 11.”

    And that shit about not changing diapers when you’re 40 — lol — HAHAHAHAHA — when are you going to give it up on this ridiculous age thing? I win:)

    RE: When I die…

    But, you put up a great front Pamajama. So good in fact, that I almost believe you couldn’t care less about your age. But I bet, deep down inside, there’s a part of you that sees a stud walking down the road, in the gym, or on TV and makes you go…”Oooh, if I were 25 again…”

    HA HA HA! I liken getting older to accepting the fact that you have gray hair: At first, you’re like “What the hell! This isn’t me!” But then as time goes on, you come to accept it and perhaps revel in it even; looking with disdain down upon those who don’t have the level of life-experience you have. Cuz hey, I EARNED these gray hairs dawg!

    pamajama said:
    February 8, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    “But I bet, deep down inside, there’s a part of you that sees a stud walking down the road, in the gym, or on TV and makes you go…”Oooh, if I were 25 again…””

    I definitely have a lot of girlfriends who think this way, who are totally hot for young guys. Not me! Part of me thinks it’s cause I’ve always liked older — and part of me KNOWS it’s cause I have a majorly ripped 23-year old son. GROSS! No, no, no:)

Leave a Reply

