Posted on

As I was coming down the stairs last night, MLE, who was already at the bottom, rushed me. Not wanting to pick him up from such an awkward position, I asked him to go back down the stairs so I could continue my descent. Rather than listening to me, he instead grabbed my ankles and leaned way back. Fearing he’d fall, I reached down to grab him…

…and *snap* there went my back.

I’m out of pain pills; I’m pulled over to the left like one of those crazy straws you get for Halloween and I can only stand up for about five minutes before the pain takes me down again.

This evening held some real promise too. There’ s gonna be skrimps, and pecan pie, and hush puppies and hot baths…

Right. More like…a hot heating pad and some Tylenol.

*sigh*. That’ll be 3 out of 9 Valentines now that will have sucked. That’s quite an average.

6 thoughts on “

    Surfer Jay said:
    February 14, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Doh. I feel your pain. My man is getting too carry around now. He better start walking soon, or get used to riding on wheels more.

    RE: Last time I pulled it reaching for the soap dispenser. At least this time I can explain how it happened and not feel like such a goob!

    birdpress said:
    February 14, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Ouch! Sorry to hear that. I’m wishing you a speedy recovery.

    Josh said:
    February 14, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Ahhh, back pain. The most miserable of all pains. Keyword is miserable there. I know exactly how you feel. I wish you well in your recovery, and sorry about your V-day. My wife had to work on ours, so we ate out on Friday.

    RE: That’ll be the new trend; esp. in a place like Atlanta. Then, it’ll be impossible to get into a decent restaurant for two days both before AND after Valentines.

    Allison said:
    February 15, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Please tell me you still got pecan pie.

    RE: HA HA! Actually, dinner still happened and after putting away my share of a pound of fresh skrimps, some garlic bread, a baked potato and some salad, I was stuffed. I opted to save the calories for today. And since I’m not going to the gym any time soon, why not?!

    David "Father of five" said:
    February 15, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Jeez… that is too bad… I finished recently with (about) a month worth of pretty significant back pain… not sure what caused it, but I heated it…. Which I later found out was what I was NOT supposed to do… Best of luck..

    Get that back in shape for the newest one!! S/he will need all the snuggling a dad can give!!

    Romi said:
    February 15, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Oh my goodness what are the odds of all this Valentine suckery?!?!?! (well…you what I mean, hahahaha)…..hope you feel better soon! 🙂

    RE: Drugs are a wonderful thing, and luckily I was able to convince the Nurse on the phone Sunday that I was not some weird narcotics addict trying to score some drugs on the weeknd when the records couldn’t be updated. Aaah, sweet relief!

Leave a Reply

