Today is my son’s actual birthday, and I forgot to tell him Happy Birthday…

Posted on Updated on

Romi’s comment prompted me to at least make a small effort to blog, so here goes.
BTW: Yes, the title is true. But in my defense, we had a family party last Sunday and he’s having a dual-party with a bud of his next weekend, so cut me slack for forgetting that today is his actual birthday!!

image Day 3: CareerMom comes home this evening sometime around dinner. Her flight lands around 4ish and then she has to trek all the way up through Atlanta to the burbs. So, figure around 5:30-6 p.m.

I looked around the house with a critical eye this morning and it was NOT pretty. Normally when she’s gone, I have time to work, take care of the boys AND clean, but this time around, the cleaning part fell victim to work that I had to do after putting the boys to bed. I had not swept. I had not vacuumed. I DID turn on the dishwasher and a load of clothes (no folding…), so yeah me!

One thing I will say though, is now that the boys are 5 and 2 years old, it is WORLDS easier than it was when I had an actual baby to deal with, which is ultimately why I have been looking upon this pending baby in August with such dread. CareerMom’s job is not going to get any easier, nor will it involve less travel as long as she’s with this company. So this time next year, I’ll be blogging about doing this all over again, except this time I’ll have a 6-month old to deal with!

What’s a guy to do? My job is important too, but just because I don’t travel, then by proxy, it’s less important. It means that when she DOES travel, that extra hour or two I usually gain by not having to take the kids to daycare, or pick them up, when she’s here working from home, is now built into late night work while everyone else sleeps. I mean, even though my boss is a mom herself, and she understands what I’m dealing with, she’s also still my boss and my deadlines are her deadlines.

I’m sure CareerMom would balk at the mere suggestion that her career is more important than mine, but each time she goes out of town, leaving me to do my usual duties, plus hers…then we really see what’s #1 around here. Cuz, when I told her that this was a BAD week for her to be gone, I don’t remember her saying, “Really? OK, I’ll get out of it.”

I submit, clause 7 from a random Partnership agreement:

Management Duties and Restrictions
The partners shall have equal rights in the management of the partnership business, and each partner shall devote their entire time to the conduct of the business. Without the consent of the other partner neither partner shall on behalf of the partnership borrow or lend money, or make, deliver, or accept any commercial paper, or execute any mortgage, security agreement, bond, or lease, or purchase or contract to purchase, or sell or contract to sell any property for or of the partnership other than the type of property bought and sold in the regular course of its business.

Restated for Marriage
The partners shall have equal rights in the management of the partnership household business, and each partner shall devote their entire time to the conduct of the business. Without the consent of the other partner, neither partner shall on behalf of the partnership make decisions to increase the capital expenditures, increase the net assets (either human or inanimate), or dissolve third-party relationships with other partnerships. In the event that either partner stays absent from the partnership for a length of time that detrimentally affects the performance of the other partner, upon said partner’s return, the partner who faithfully remained and carried out the duties of the partnership, shall have the option to immediately disregard any and all provinces within this partnership; thereby, freeing the partner to spend money flagrantly, drink heavily, and generally act in a manner that might normally be deemed inappropriate.

The sad truth though, is that upon her return, though she will immediately “set me free,” instead of going and doing something fun for myself, I’ll probably just sit down and do more work.

Yeah, I’m THAT behind.

*sigh*

5 thoughts on “Today is my son’s actual birthday, and I forgot to tell him Happy Birthday…

    Allison said:
    March 5, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    August is a good month to be born :-). Yes, I realize that’s only tangentially related to this post.

    trishatruly said:
    March 6, 2009 at 5:14 am

    I love that re-stated partnership agreement! Brilliant!
    And I feel your pain……

    Rose said:
    March 6, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Isn’t it horrible when you have free time to do you end up doing something you have to do. I can not wait until I can do something I want to do rather than what I need to do. It is too bad you can’t get some teenager to come around and be a “Daddy’s helper” to entertain the kids while your wife is travelling so you can get your work done while they are playing/getting dinner etc. I always get my neice over when my husband leaves for the weekend and it is so much more pleasent. Then to pay her I take her out shopping. It is a win win!!

    Eric said:
    March 6, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    You really didn’t forget…
    you have had a lot on your mind and it slipped away for a moment…
    but look – you remembered! Eventually!

    Romi said:
    March 8, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    Awww…so you didn’t act in a manner that would be deemed otherwise inappropriate? Hahaha…but hey you did blog 😉 Hope you got to catch up on a lot of work too!

Leave a Reply

