I came, I saw, I blogged

Posted on Updated on

After much debate (internally), I’ve come to the conclusion that my blogging days are over. I just don’t have enough time, or good material, to make it work anymore. And let’s be honest, it was just barely working anyway.

I’ve made some really great friends here, and I’ve met some people who don’t realize how good they are at this. Honestly, it’s humbling (and only mildly annoying at how easy they make it seem). But, if I try and keep doing everything I’m doing, something will eventually suffer and I’d rather it be something I enjoy rather than something that’s a real responsibility. Instead of just letting my posts dribble off and leaving people to wonder, I’m just officially ending it.

Really, it wasn’t you; it’s me. 🙂

I’m sure I’ll still be stopping by your blogs from time to time though, so keep an eye out for my tell-tale coffee cup icon.

So long and God Bless!

10 thoughts on “I came, I saw, I blogged

    Dana said:
    March 24, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    I really hate to hear that. I know I didn’t comment often, but that didn’t mean I didn’t look every morning to see what you had to say.

    I will miss you!

    Hygiene Dad said:
    March 24, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    CRAP, I blog WAY less than you. That’s not a good sign.

    Sorry to see you go. I always enjoyed your thoughts. Say hi every now and then.

    David "Father of five" said:
    March 24, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Disappointing to say the least. I feel as I really have made a friend, even though we have never met before.

    I was looking forward to hearing about #3…

    I will share a comment (exactly as I had left it) for another blogger that was going to “call it quits” in February..

    – – – – – – – – – – –

    I have been blogging for three years now… I do really enjoy it, and have made some GREAT friends (and reunited with some others.. Ahem, Ahem) from it.

    It is true that (from time to time) content (QUALITY content) gets difficult to come up with.. Especially stuff that I have not rambled on about at one other point.

    Early on, I tried to be a “once a day” poster… That became overwhelming…. I then tried to be a “once a week” poster… And even that became daunting… I still enjoyed blogging, but I had to discover what was making me feel “overwhelmed”. That’s when it hit me. When I put a requirement on my blogging. When I told myself when and how to blog. I found that I was “searching” for reasons to post… (Could I blog about this? Could I blog about that?) It was becoming another “chore” – something else to add to my already busy list.

    So I scaled back… I went several weeks without posting… and decided that I would only post when it felt “natural”. I was not going to force anything. If I posted every day, so be it… And, if I did not post for a month… So be it. I took a much more relaxed approach to the whole concept. After all… It’s nothing more than a hobby, right?

    I seem to have found a groove that falls somewhere between “once a week” and “once every two weeks”. One of my closest friends “Many Things Do Not Fly” used to post quite often… Now, she only posts once a month at best. As a reader, that’s A.O.K with me!

    Abandonment? That seems so cold, so… so final.

    What’s wrong with leaving it as is. Removing any guilt for “not posting” – and letting sit there until you find that something does happen… something you want to share, something you want to tell the world, or something that may be helpful to be able to solicit some unbiased advise for…

    Ultimately, the decision is yours – but I’d say give yourself a buffer period. 6 months… maybe even a year… before you make a final decision on abandonment… Even if you don’t post anything in that time frame.

    I’m still hoping you drop by FOF from time to time though! Your always welcome there! (Even if I have not posted in a while!)

    Our best to you and yours!
    Father of Five

    – – – – – – – – – – –

    and, an excerpt from my blog… on why I blog…

    – – – – – – – — – – –

    I am keeping this blog as a collection of thoughts for my chidren (but others are welcome to enjoy too)…. Someday I hope they have they chance to read this. My work and our hectic family lifestyle keeps me very busy. I hate to admit this but sometimes so busy that I dont spend as much time with my kids and family as I want to, or as I should…. Although I am not always with them – they are ALWAYS with me….

    – – – – – – – – – – – –

    In any case… I am glad to have met you, and TRULY hope you stay in contact!!

    Your (virtual) friend.
    David

    Alex said:
    March 24, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Wha??! I just found your blog and I really enjoy visiting here!

    I do know how you feel though. There was a time when I really felt it was more of a chore than pleasure to blog. So I just stopped posting as often and left it alone. I try to post now only when it strikes me and when I have something quick to say or I have a few pictures I’d like to share. Often times the writing process will take over and I’ll end up posting longer than I intended and I’m okay with that. Trying to keep it short helped out a lot. There was no pressure to write out something most people would have gotten bored with half way down anyway or so I think.

    Now I by no means make the claim to be anything but a mediocre writer but I do find it a lot of fun having wanted to be a writer at some long lost point in my life. Blogging isn’t exactly the kind of writing I wanted to do, but it’s writing damn it and I do enjoy it when I’m in the moment.

    I honestly hope you reconsider. Leave it alone for a while, as David “Father of five” suggested. Come back now and then when something strikes ya even if it’s only a few sentences. I really enjoy reading your posts and your thoughts here in the great cyberspace will be missed.

    I’m going to keep your RSS feed in my Outlook so that when you do post again, I’ll be there to lurk. 😉

    Take care and best wishes,
    –Alex

    AtHomeDaddy said:
    March 24, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    See? This is why I don’t have a real job. Otherwise I would not have time to blog my crappy and happy days all the dang time.

    Seriously, good luck and good wishes to you guys.

    David "Father of five" said:
    March 24, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Hey AtHomeDadddy…. I’m not leaving anytime soon!

    pamajama said:
    March 25, 2009 at 2:43 am

    I think you should consider Father of Five’s comment and take a sabbatical. Instead of enjoying it as a release, thinking about the numbers causes stress, the opposite result. Wish you’d stay:)

      dobeman said:
      March 25, 2009 at 7:17 am

      Now see, I’m almost getting a little Vaklempt! Can I say that if I’m not Jewish? (Man I DO miss those old SNL skits…back in the good old days!)

      Perhaps I was too hasty here. I mean, I will miss this and maybe it IS time to just scale back. My problem, you see, is that I have a hard time doing things part-time. But you know what? By golly, I’m gonna try. I mean honestly, I “talk” more with you folks than I do the people I actually work with, so if I stopped blogging, it’s possible that I’d become like the great and mighty Yoda, all holed up in a tropical cesspool somewhere just begging for someone to drop off their geo-cache supplies for me to rummage through.

      Clearly, I need to cut back on the “Lego Star Wars” time with MLI.

      Thanks everyone! I think I’ll keep this live and see where it takes me!

    Romi said:
    March 25, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    I was gonna be all teary-eyed, but now it looks like you’ve reconsidered and you’re just gonna go with the flow…yippee! 🙂

    Surfer Jay said:
    March 30, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Another dad blog gone the way of the do-do bird. Bummer dude. I hear you though. I really haven’t blogged for over a month now. For one thing, I drew a mental blank and ran out of worthy crap to write about, just as my computers blew up. So this is actually my first blogging since then. And I just don’t kno either…

    But, yes you jumped the gun with declaring mental bankruptcy. Just let it sit here for a while untill you come up with some good material, then post it. Hell, the readers have blogs in their feed list anyway, so when you post they know it. I figure you just need a small break, but no need to throw it in yet.

    Now if i can just come up with some good stuff too….

Leave a Reply

