I feel richer already

Posted on

image I’m sorry. I really am, but I simply HAVE to comment on the “Stimulus Bonus” that we’re all supposed to be getting in the coming weeks.

A whopping $15-$20 extra in our paycheck. Holy crap! I could finish the basement, or I could buy a new truck. Oh wait…I’m confusing the money I’m getting back, with the debt that I now owe thanks to the recent government bailout ($20 in “extra” money each paycheck vs. the approx. $50,000 in new debt this plan will cost every man, woman and child in America) (http://www.nowpublic.com/tech-biz/how-stimulus-plan-will-impact-average-american)

And this is news? Seriously, I hope this country’s loyalties can’t be bought with a “bonus” that’s not even equal to the price of dinner for four at Applebees on a school night.

But the crisis is now real for me. My BIL was laid off his job yesterday–a mere two days before him and his wife were to close on a new house for their growing family. It would be real nice of the homeowners to give them back their earnest money, but I doubt that’s going to happen. So, no new job…Oh and you’re also out about five large. Sorry!

But we’ll all keep on working  and we’ll all keep on hoping that our hard work, not the bloated government machine, will pull us out of this rut.

 

4 thoughts on “I feel richer already

    Eric said:
    March 31, 2009 at 8:46 am

    I didn’t know about the $20 extra and I thought I got a raise or something! LOL!

    Sadly, the truth came out and I was bummed…
    but oh well… guess that will pay for a tank of gas!

    Guess we have to look on the brightside, huh?

    rose said:
    April 1, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    I thought I was the only one who thought this way.
    I am sorry for your BIL–I hope all works out for him and his family.

      dobeman said:
      April 2, 2009 at 12:25 pm

      RE: You’re not…but I think that most of us who DO feel this way, don’t say much about it for fear of reprisal. Which, I think is as the heart of the problem. Conservatives as a whole, aren’t noise-makers. We’re “go with the flow” kinda people. But we need to change.

    R said:
    April 3, 2009 at 8:55 am

    I agree we do need to make more noise. It is just tough to break the mold!!

Leave a Reply

