Posted on

Tomorrow morning I’ll be making one of the more difficult choices I’ve ever made. My Doberman of almost 13 years has gotten too sick to remain with us. An otherwise healthy and active dog, she has succumbed to ravenous cancer and near-crippling arthritis that prevents her from doing much more than just lying down all day. Despite heavy medication, even getting up to use the bathroom causes her to yelp in pain and I just can’t let her go on like that.

Knikki has been with me for almost 13 years. I picked her out of a litter of pups when she was about 9 weeks old. She was the one who, like me, sat apart from the group and watched. Together we made it through having her ears clipped (and my re-taping them multiple times),  my recovering from a bad breakup that nearly made me want to give up on life, and she was there literally, when I met my now wife. Together we’ve run more miles than I can count; chased more balls that I can remember and terrified more ducks than can be found in Central Park.

She moved with me to Ohio for a year while I worked a contract job, and then came back to Atlanta with me, where we have lived since. She’s put up with numerous additions to the family, all the while accepting a smaller and smaller amount of my attentions. She’s put up with rambunctions children climbing on her, and an overexuberant Weimeraner who steals her food when she’s not looking.

All the while she’s been a faithful and obedient companion. And I’m going to miss her terribly.

Lord, if there is a place in heaven for your child’s best friend, please make a place for my Knikki. She deserves it far more than I do.

Goodbye.

11 thoughts on “

    birdpress said:
    January 4, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    I’m so sorry about Knikki. You know you are doing the right thing, but losing them is so hard. She’s a beautiful dog and I’ve heard she’s very sweet too. Sounds like she’s been a great friend to you.

    Monica said:
    January 4, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    Chris this is so sad. I hate that you are having to go through this. I know how you love your dogs. I lost my dog about 6 months after Shawn was born and I didn’t know if I was going to make it. We just got a new dog for Christmas. Trying to get to love him. I know that will come. I will be praying for you tomorrow. Hope all goes well.

      dobeman said:
      January 27, 2010 at 9:22 pm

      RE:Thanks Monica! We have another pup, but she’s ten so I’ll be doing this again in a couple of years no doubt. After her, there will certainly be a puppy! Right now though with the baby, the LAST thing I need is a puppy!

    Stacey said:
    January 4, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    How sad. Sounds like she lived a good life though. Clearly she is loved.

    Father of five said:
    January 4, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    I really do not have words for you Chris… The loss of a loved pet is difficult… Having to make the decision (when the time is right) is one of the most painful, yet selfless things we can do for our beloved pets.

    I will be thinking of you, your family and Knikki tomorrow…

    Trisha said:
    January 4, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    A Dog’s Prayer 2
    To Those Who Love & Those Who Love Me

    When I am gone, release me, let me go-
    I have so many things to see and do.
    You must not tie yourself to me with tears,
    Be happy that we had so many years.
    I gave you my love, you can only guess
    How much you gave me in happiness.
    I thank you for the love you have each shown.
    But now it is time I traveled alone.
    So grieve awhile for me if grieve you must,
    Then let your grief be comforted by trust,
    It is only for a while that we must part,
    So bless the memories within your heart,
    I will not be far away, for life goes on,
    So if you need me, call and I will come.
    Though you can not see or touch me, I will be near.
    And if you listen with your heart, you will hear
    All my love around you soft and clear.
    And then, when you must come this way alone,
    I will greet you with a smile and “Welcome Home”.

    athomedaddy said:
    January 4, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Man, I am sorry that you have to go through this. Made the same drive with my best buddy, Bill about 5 years ago. Knikki looks like an awesome dpg and a great family member.

    trishatruly said:
    January 5, 2010 at 7:58 am

    Guess the poem was not what you needed at this time. I thought it might help.. sorry.

    I really feel bad about dear Nikki. She was truly one of a kind and a true friend to you.

    Eric said:
    January 5, 2010 at 10:17 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about this.

    It is hard to lose a family member.

    Makes me wanna go home and give my dogs a hug…

    Hygiene Dad said:
    January 5, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    Sorry to hear about your loss. It’s a tough spot to be in but you are a good pet owner to care for him this way.

    My thoughts are with you.

    Allison said:
    January 16, 2010 at 12:26 am

    That was quite a tribute…and apparently quite a dog.

    I’m sorry to hear that. These creatures have a way of working themselves into our life story.

Leave a Reply

