It’s time to get movin…

Posted on Updated on

It’s interesting, I think, that nearly 10 years ago, the company I worked for closed up shop and I was left looking for a new job. Largely out of boredom, I began writing online for fun and a lot of it was picked up and published–usually in obscure newsletters and e-zines.

This morning I received a call that my position with my company is being terminated. I have a month to find a new position within my company, or I’m out. What’s interesting, is that I once again find myself turning to the Internet to talk about it.

Things are much different this time around. For one, this time I leave with years of solid work behind me and having worked for a very well-known company. I also have my degree now–something I didn’t have the first time around. So, while I’m understandably stressed over it, it’s not so bad really.

Truth be told, I hated what I was doing. About three months ago, I was moved into a new group. My job went from being a creative person, to being a project manager. Now, anyone who knows me, knows that I’m a very logical and orderly person. Knowing this, you’d think that my brain would love the order that project management brings.

Not so! There is such a thing as too much of a good thing.

So perhaps this is just the change I needed, to make the move that I needed to make. We’ll see.

8 thoughts on “It’s time to get movin…

    Eric said:
    March 1, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    Dude that isnt a lot of time – this actually stressed me out!
    I’m impressed with how cool and clam you are about it all.

    Well, if there was anything I could do you know I would…
    You will find something.

    Do they not realize you just had a new baby in your family? What happened to a little compassion or empathy?

    Eric

      dobeman said:
      March 1, 2010 at 8:57 pm

      It’s just business. In recent years, Big Blue has transitioned 30,000 jobs overseas, mostly to India and they claim it’s because of cost. For what they pay one writer stateside, in India they get 1. A writer 2. A mentor for that writer and 3. An editor to look over both their work.

      Of course, the quality is suspect (We laugh about it all the time), but they’ve made it so that the Offering Managers (product managers) write the bulk of the content here, and these overseas folks simply cut/paste it into different templates. Literally, the creative process is called “Content Factory.” And truly, that’s what it is–a factory.

      But I’m only calm and collected on the outside. The other part of me is frantically trying to plan out every penny for the next six months.

    Leighton said:
    March 1, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Dude. I don’t know what to say.

    I’d rather not just type some cliche stuff here about how it’ll all work out, but I do believe that there may come a day when you’ll look back at this crap and see that it’s a catalyst for bigger, better and more meaningful things in your career and/or life.

    But what do I know?

      dobeman said:
      March 4, 2010 at 2:37 pm

      Leighton, good to see you man! Thanks for stopping by my ‘oh-so-neglected’ blog and leaving a comment. As I’ve told others, I’m oddly OK with this. Of course, that may be because I’m not actually unemployed yet–I have till the end of March. But I tell ya, this job hunting stuff is almost as much work as…well…work.
      Again, I appreciate the comments. Good friends I’ve made…good friends indeed.

    The Father of Five said:
    March 1, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    I too am amazed at the level of calmness you are presenting. There is talk of consolidation where I work – I am not worried about LOOSING my job, just about what it will change into – and I am freaked out about it almost daily… (It is not even a sure thing… It’s just an idea floating around out there).

    Hang in there…

      dobeman said:
      March 4, 2010 at 2:40 pm

      FoF, I think the “not knowing” is the worst part–esp. if you’re a planner like we are. Not to turn this into something about “me”, but we’ve been in a similar situation with CareerMom’s job since Nov. We’ve known her company would be bought…just didn’t know when. It finally went through three weeks ago and we thought, “OK, so maybe we’ll finally know whether my wife needs to start looking for another job, or if they’re going to offer her something to stay.”

      But nope…still no closer to knowing…and that is driving us bonkers.

      But, I pray everything stays good for you and the family.

    Allison said:
    April 11, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    I’ve been following along care of status updates. I hope that all is going well with you, and that you’ll find something you enjoy doing more than what you were doing.

    Romi said:
    April 17, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    I think it’s always a blessing when you were hating what you were doing, and you definitely have a leg up from the last time you were in this place…hope all is well with you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

